IELTS - ACADEMIC - INTERNET vs CLASSROOM FOR LEARNING LANGUAGES

QUESTION-

Some people say language courses using the internet and allowing you to talk to somebody is a good way to learn. Others, however, believe that study in classrooms is still the best way of learning. Give your opinion on these views and include your own experiences and examples.

RESPONSE-

Nowadays many people try to learn new languages for the purposes of higher studies as well as for immigration to foreign countries. Some people feel that learning a language using internet and talking to someone online is a good way to learn whereas others believe that conventional methods of studying in classrooms is the best way .Both the opinions will be critiqued before a reasoned conclusion is reached.

It is felt by many that learning a language using internet offers a wide range of data pertaining to vocabulary and accuracy of the language. Further, an individual may learn a new language without an extra effort of going to classes. For instance, many Asian students who aspire to pursue their higher education in English speaking countries such as Canada, Australia and England choose distant online courses for learning English. This saves their time as they can learn new words and their meanings just on the click of a button. Thus, it is clear why this argument has garnered a lot of support.

However, learning a language in classroom offers different benefits. Students can do group discussions and further discuss their own problems with the teachers. Moreover, teachers can cater to the needs of individual student. It is reported by many students that even if they choose online courses for learning, eventually they join classes for better understanding of the language and its practice. Thus, it is seen clearly why classrooms are still the best way of learning.

Therefore, to conclude it can be said that although learning online offers comfort and access to wide range of data but learning in a classroom has advantages such as group discussions and motivation by teachers. So, it is opined that classroom learning has greater benefits than learning online.