IELTS academic - increase petrol price to reduce traffic and pollution

q: increase in petrol price is the best way to solve the growing traffic and pollution problems.

To what extent do u agree or disagree? Suggest other effective measures.

ESSAY :

Traffic and pollution has become a major headache in today's world. The main culprit of these issues is increased usage of vehicle. The argument put forth is, inflating petrol price will put an end to these problems. Personally, I believe inflated petrol price and imposing strict rules would drastically reduce the head ache of traffic and pollution.

Firstly, if an increase on petrol price is announced, it should be a drastic one instead of marginal increase. For instance, if petrol's price is hiked by 1%, a person would curse the government on price rise and would continue to use the vehicle. However, if the petrol's price is hiked by 50%, people will think twice to use vehicles. Implicitly, this will decrease the intensity of the traffic and pollution caused by vehicles.

Secondly, several tough policies should be imposed on using individual transport. For instance, in Singapore, a person should pay $2 to the government for using his own vehicle every time. Moreover, one should pay a costly amount to get a driving license in that country. These schemes will surely encourage the use of public transport. Tacitly, this will reduce road jams.

Furthermore, to minimize pollution caused by vehicle, certification of vehicles should be done based on the fumes emitted. High fine should be imposed on vehicles that cause excess noise pollution and fume emission. Moreover, other sources of environmental pollution, such as factories, construction sites should be monitored strictly to avoid excess emission of jarring sounds and noxious gases. This will greatly help in decreasing pollution.

To conclude, high increase petrol price and implementing strict rules such as aforementioned suggestions will surely help in reducing road jams and environmental pollution.